Denbighshire Record Office

Denbigh Conservative Association

Reference code(s): GB 0209 DD/DM/80

Held at:

Title: Denbigh Conservative Association

Short title: Denbigh Conservative Association, records

Dates of creation: 1923-1972

Level of description: Fonds

Extent and medium: 0.133 cubic metres (25 items)

Name of creator(s): Denbigh Division Conservative Association


Administrative and biographical history: The Conservative and Unionist Party is organised locally into Associations, based on parliamentary constituencies. The constituency of Denbigh was created in 1918 from the former Denbighshire East and West Divisions. Reorganisation prior to the 1983 General Election saw most of the Denbigh constituency becoming part of the new Clwyd South-West seat. Denbigh Division Conservative Association was represented on the North Wales Committee of the Wales and Monmouthshire Conservative and Unionist Council.


Scope and content: Records of Denbigh Conservative Association, 1923-1972, comprising minutes, 1923-1961; lists of officers, 1925-1939; press cuttings, 1949-1969; photographs, 1959, 1967; and minutes of the North Wales Committee of the Wales and Monmouthshire Conservative and Unionist Council, 1938-1972.


Language/script: English

System of arrangement: Arranged into the following: minute books; lists of officers; press cutting books; photographs; and Wales and Monmouthshire Conservative and Unionist Council.

Conditions governing access: Not to be produced for public inspection without the permission of the depositors or their successors. Access to some documents within this collection may be further restricted due to Data Protection legislation. Please contact Denbighshire Record Office for further information.

Conditions governing reproduction: Usual copyright regulations apply

Finding aids: A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Denbighshire Record Office.
Detailed catalogue


Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information: All records have been retained

Accruals: Accruals are not expected

Immediate source of acquisition: Deposited by the Secretary and Agent, Denbigh Conservative Association, 3 Llewelyn Road, Colwyn Bay, 1974; N. Shepperd, Secretary, 3 Llewelyn Road, COlwyn Bay, 1981.



Note: Title supplied from contents of fonds

Archivist's note: Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: Denbighshire Record Office, Denbigh Conservative Association, catalogue; Jones, Beti, Etholiadau'r ganrif, 1885-1997/Welsh elections, 1885-1997 (Talybont: Y Lolfa, 1999).

Rules or conventions: This description follows ANW guidelines based on ISAD(G) second edition, AACR2, and LCSH

Date(s) of description: May 2004



Denbigh Division Conservative Association | Archives

Political parties | Wales | Denbighshire

Personal names

Corporate names

Denbigh Division Conservative Association