Denbighshire Record Office

Abergele Rural Parish and Community Council Records

Reference code(s): GB 0209 PCD/4

Held at:

Title: Abergele Rural Parish and Community Council Records

Short title: Abergele Rural Parish Council and Community Council, records

Dates of creation: 1861-1983

Level of description: Fonds

Extent and medium: 30 items

Name of creator(s): Abergele Rural Parish Council; Abergele Rural Community Council


Administrative and biographical history: Civil parishes were established by the Local Government Act 1894. The records can include minute books, financial statements, correspondence, copies of planning applications, and rate lists. Community councils replaced parish councils under the local government reorganization in 1974. Abergele Rural is a civil parish formerly in the county of Denbighshire, later in Clwyd until 1996, when it became part of Conwy County Borough.


Scope and content: Records of Abergele Rural Parish Council and Community Council, 1861-1983, including minute books and agenda papers, 1894-1983; receipt and payment books, 1895-1974; declarations of acceptance of office, 1925-1962; maps and books of reference, 1861-1915.


Language/script: English

System of arrangement: Arranged into four groups, by deposit: Group One, minute books, parish meeting minute book, declarations of acceptance of office, receipt and payment books, register of mortgages, and maps and books of reference; Group Two, book of reference to the Abergele and Pensarn map of 1862-1863; Group Three, minutes and agenda papers; and Group Four, minutes, declarations of acceptance of office, and receipt and payment accounts.

Conditions governing access: Access to some documents within this collection may be restricted under Data Protection legislation. Please contact Denbighshire Record Office for further information.

Conditions governing reproduction: Usual copyright regulations apply.

Finding aids: A hard copy of the catalogue is available in Denbighshire Record Office.
Detailed catalogue


Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information: All records deposited at Denbighshire Record Office have been retained.

Accruals: Accruals are possible

Immediate source of acquisition: Deposited by the Acting Clerk to the Abergele Rural Community Council, Clwyd, 1976; Chief Executive, Colwyn Borough Council, Colwyn Bay, Clwyd, 1982; Mr P. Davies, Llanfair Talhaiarn, Clerk to Llanfair Talhaiarn Community Council, per G. LL. Jones, Llannefydd, Clwyd, 1988; and G. Idris Davies, Abergele, Clwyd, 1993.



Note: Title supplied from contents of fonds. The archive contains earlier maps accumulated by the Parish Council.

Archivist's note: Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following source was used to compile this description: Denbighshire Record Office, Catalogue, Abergele Rural Parish/ Community Council Records.

Rules or conventions: This description follows ANW guidelines based on ISAD(G) second edition, AACR2, and LCSH

Date(s) of description: March 2004; amended July 2005



Abergele (Wales) | Politics and government

Abergele Rural (Wales). | Community Council | Records and correspondence

Abergele Rural (Wales). | Parish Council | Archives

Parish councils (Local government) | Wales | Abergele

Personal names

Corporate names

Abergele Rural (Wales)

Abergele Rural (Wales) | Community Council



Abergele Rural