Denbighshire Record Office

Denbighshire School Boards Records

Reference code(s): GB 0209 ED/SB

Held at:

Title: Denbighshire School Boards Records

Short title: Denbighshire School Boards records

Dates of creation: 1871-1904

Level of description: Fonds

Extent and medium: 1.596 cubic metres (84 boxes)

Name of creator(s): Denbighshire County Council, Education Department


Administrative and biographical history: After the Education Act 1870, School Boards were established to provide education in areas where no such provision existed. The School Boards were elected bodies, empowered to levy rates and to set up and maintain schools in areas where voluntary provision was inadequate. Following the Education Act 1902, the School Boards passed their responsibility for elementary education on to the Local Education Authority, Denbighshire County Council. The Education Committee received the records of the Boards when they were transferred. School Boards in Denbighshire included: Adenbury School Board; Bersham School Board; Broughton School Board; Brymbo School Board; Cerrigydrudion School Board; Clocaenog School Board; Denbigh School Board; Glyntraean School Board; Gwytherin School Board; Gyffylliog School Board; Henllan School Board; Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog School Board; Llanarmon-Yn-Iâl School Board; Llandrillo and Eirias School Board; Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd School Board; Llanfair Talhaearn School Board; Llangollen School Board; Llangwm School Board; Llangynhafal School Board; Llanrwst School Board; Llanrhaeadr-Ym-Mochnant School Board; Llansanffraid Glynceiriog School Board; Llansilin School Board; Nantglyn School Board; Ruabon School Board; Ruthin and Llanfwrog School Board; Stansty School Board; Trefnant and Bylchau School Board; and Wrexham School Board.


Scope and content: Records of School Boards, 1871-1904, including minutes, 1871-1904; draft minutes, 1883-1904; letter books, 1871-1904; financial records, 1871-1904; records of mortgages, 1873-1903; census registers of children, 1894-1899; and annual reports, 1891-1898.


Language/script: English

System of arrangement: Arranged by School Board into the following: Adenbury; Bersham; Broughton; Brymbo; Cerrigydrudion; Clocaenog; Denbigh; Glyntraean; Gwytherin; Gyffylliog; Henllan; Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog; Llanarmon-Yn-Iâl; Llandrillo and Eirias; Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd; Llanfair Talhaearn; Llangollen; Llangwm; Llangynhafal; Llanrwst; Llanrhaeadr-Ym-Mochnant; Llansanffraid Glynceiriog; Llansilin; Nantglyn; Ruabon; Ruthin and Llanfwrog; Stansty; Trefnant and Bylchau; and Wrexham.

Conditions governing access: No restrictions

Conditions governing reproduction: Usual copyright regulations apply.

Finding aids: A hard copy of the catalogue is available in Denbighshire Record Office.
Detailed catalogue


Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information: All records deposited at Denbighshire Record Office have been retained.

Accruals: Accruals are not expected

Immediate source of acquisition: Transferred from the Denbighshire Education Authority, County Offices, Ruthin and Abbotsfield, Wrexham, [pre-1974].


Related units of description: Records of the schools are in Denbighshire Record Office, ED/1-101.


Note: Title supplied from contents of fonds

Archivist's note: Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project.The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Denbighshire Record Office, Catalogue, Denbighshire School Boards Records; Powys Digital History Project Website (, viewed 11 March 2004.

Rules or conventions: This description follows ANW guidelines based on ISAD(G) second edition, AACR2, and LCSH

Date(s) of description: March 2004



School boards | Wales | Denbighshire

Schools | Wales | Denbighshire | Archives

Personal names

Corporate names