Denbighshire Record Office

Llansilin Rural District Council Records

Reference code(s): GB 0209 RDD/D

Held at:

Title: Llansilin Rural District Council Records

Short title: Llansilin Rural District Council records

Dates of creation: 1855-1935 (accumulated 1894-1935)

Level of description: Fonds

Extent and medium: 1.292 cubic metres (68 boxes)

Name of creator(s): Llansilin Rural District Council; Oswestry Incorporation of the Guardians of the Poor; Corwen Poor Law Union; Llanfyllin Poor Law Union


Administrative and biographical history: Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant Rural District Council was established in Denbighshire under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894. It comprised the parishes of Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr, Llangadwaladr, Llangedwyn and Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant. In 1897, the parishes of Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog (previously administered temporarily by Edeyrnion RDC) and Llansilin (from Chirk RDC) were added, and the council was renamed Llansilin Rural District Council. In 1935 the council was merged with Chirk RDC, to form the new district of Ceiriog. The council comprised councillors and a chairman, elected for three years. They originally took over responsibility for local sanitation from the local sanitary authorities and their responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, maintaining local roads, cemeteries, parks, and licensing of public entertainments, water supply and later housing. Rural District Councils were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Public Health Inspector, Housing Officer and Surveyor. From 1927 the council was given rating powers, succeeding Oswestry Incorporation (Llansilin parish), Corwen Union (Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog) and Llanfyllin Union (Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr, Llangadwaladr, Llangedwyn and Llanrhaeadr-yn-Mochnant).


Scope and content: Records of Llansilin Rural District Council and related bodies, 1855-1935, comprising Clerk's department records, 1895-1935, including minutes, 1895-1935, letter books, 1913-1928, correspondence and papers, 1898-1933, and correspondence files on various subjects, 1914-1935; Treasurer's department records, 1894-1935, including general ledgers, 1894-1932, receipt and payment accounts, 1914-1932, and various vouchers, 1905-1928; Surveyor's cash books, accounts, monthly reports and other records, 1879-1933; Public Health Inspector's reports and other records, 1911-1924; rating records of Corwen Union, 1897-1927; rate books, collecting and deposit books, accounts and other rating records of Llanfyllin Union, 1883-1929; rate books, collecting and deposit books, Overseers' receipt and payment accounts, statements and other rating records of Oswestry Incorporation, 1855-1930; and Llansilin RDC Rating Officer's records, 1907-1935, including rate accounts, 1929-1935, and valuation registers, 1907-1934.


Language/script: English

System of arrangement: Arranged into Clerk; Rating Officer; Treasurer; Surveyor; Public Health Inspector and miscellaneous.

Conditions governing access: Access to some documents within this collection may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation. Please contact Denbighshire Record Office for further information.

Conditions governing reproduction: Usual copyright regulations apply

Finding aids: A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Denbighshire Record Office.
Detailed catalogue


Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information: All records have been retained

Accruals: Accruals are not expected

Archival history: The majority of the records were originally deposited at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth, in 1938, by the Clerk to Ceiriog RDC.

Immediate source of acquisition: Deposited by the Clerk to Ceiriog RDC, 1974; transferred from the National Library of Wales, 1988.



Note: Title supplied from contents of fonds

Archivist's note: Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Denbighshire Record Office, Llansilin RDC catalogue; Jackson, W. Eric, The Structure of Local Government in England and Wales (London: Longmans, 1949); Hey, David, Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History (Oxford, 1997).

Rules or conventions: This description follows ANW guidelines based on ISAD(G) second edition, AACR2, and LCSH

Date(s) of description: March 2004



Llansilin (Wales) | Politics and government

Llansilin (Wales). | Rural District Council | Archives

Local taxation | Wales | Denbighshire

Poor laws | Wales | Denbighshire | Administration

Personal names

Corporate names

Corwen Union

Llanfyllin Poor Law Union

Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant (Wales) | Rural District Council

Llansilin (Wales) | Rural District Council

Oswestry Poor Law Union | Board of Guardians